She could build the

next Mars rover.

 

Kid Spark's STEM programs will give her the confidence and skills to make it possible.

Kid Spark Education is a nonprofit organization working with educators to provide fun, hands-on engineering education programs that help all children, especially children from underrepresented communities, develop STEM identity and technology fluency.

STEM Identity:

Seeing one's self as capable of learning and understanding science, technology, engineering, and math.

Technology Fluency:

The confidence and skills to creatively author with technology to solve real-world problems and design new solutions.

Our mission is to help all children prepare for a lifetime of interest in science and technology.

 

Three principles guide our STEM programs:

Start young and don't stop

The most effective way to close the STEM achievement gap is to expose young children to STEM subjects as soon as they enter their first classroom and to continue offering applied STEM experiences every year. Kid Spark programs do just that. They are designed to follow children through their entire elementary and middle-school careers, starting with preschoolers and continuing with progressive STEM learning all the way through 8th grade.

Image of a student working with her STEM mentor with a STEM kit

Mentors matter

Having a teacher who is an instructor, role model, and STEM program mentor all in one is critical. Teachers who serve as STEM mentors ensure that students stay at their learning edge, the zone where skills and fluency may be just shy of what’s required to accomplish the task at hand. A STEM mentor’s encouragement can mean the difference between a child giving up on STEM and excelling in STEM.

Image of ROK Blocks Gears

Make it easy and affordable

Schools often struggle with the traditionally high cost and complexity of STEM education programs. Kid Spark Education provides sustainable and easily managed STEM education programs for less than $45 per child over the course of their PK-8 education by utilizing existing teaching staff, existing classroom facilities, and reusable and long-lasting materials.

Kid Spark Education is based in San Diego, California. Our STEM programs have been adopted in over 1600 educational institutions in 49 states and 12 countries. Clients include school systems, libraries, nonprofits, and out-of-school educational programs.

 

Academic Partners

 

 

Board of Directors

Jena Olson

Jena Olson
CEO & President
jenao@kidsparkeducation.org

Paul Eichen

Paul Eichen
Founder & Board Chair
paule@kidsparkeducation.org

Michael W. Hager

Michael W. Hager, Ph.D.
Trustee

Dennis Whittler

Dennis Whittler
Trustee 

Jim Stone

Jim Stone
Treasurer & Trustee 

Anne Worrall

Anne Worrall
Trustee

 

 

Staff

Jena Olson

Jena Olson
Chief Executive Officer
jenao@kidsparkeducation.org

Christine Norris

Christine Norris
Senior Director of Program Sales
christinen@kidsparkeducation.org

Ryan Neden

Ryan Neden
Director of Education
ryann@kidsparkeducation.org

David Emery

David Emery
Director of Client Success
davide@kidsparkeducation.org

Mike Gruber

Mike Gruber
Director of Operations
mikeg@kidsparkeducation.org

Alfredo Lozano

Alfredo Lozano
Director of Finance
alfredol@kidsparkeducation.org

Chelsey Kiester

Chelsey Kiester
Logistics and Operations
chelseyk@kidsparkeducation.org

Clarissa Dieck

Clarissa Dieck
Client Success Specialist
clarissad@kidsparkeducation.org