She could build the

next Mars rover.

 

Kid Spark gives her the confidence and skills to make it possible.

 

 

Kid Spark Education is a nonprofit organization using fun, hands-on engineering education programs to help all children, especially children from underrepresented communities, develop STEM identity and technology fluency.

STEM Identity:

Seeing one's self as capable of learning and understanding science, technology, engineering, and math.

Technology Fluency:

The confidence and skills to creatively author with technology to solve real-world problems and design new solutions.

Our mission is to help all children prepare for a lifetime of interest in science and technology.

 

Three principles guide our programs:

Start young and don't stop

The most effective way to close the STEM achievement gap is to expose young children to STEM subjects as soon as they enter their first classroom and to continue offering applied STEM experiences every year. Kid Spark programs do just that. They are designed to follow children through their entire elementary and middle-school careers, starting with preschoolers and continuing with progressive STEM learning all the way through 8th grade.

Mentors matter

Having a teacher who is an instructor, role model, and STEM mentor all in one is critical. Teachers who serve as STEM mentors ensure that students stay at their learning edge, the zone where skills and fluency may be just shy of what’s required to accomplish the task at hand. A STEM mentor’s encouragement can mean the difference between a child giving up on STEM and excelling in STEM.

Make it easy and affordable

Schools often struggle with the traditionally high cost and complexity of STEM education programs. Kid Spark Education provides sustainable and easily managed STEM education programs for less than $45 per child over the course of their PK-8 education by utilizing existing teaching staff, existing classroom facilities, and reusable and long-lasting materials.

Kid Spark Education is based in San Diego, California. Our programs have been adopted in over 1200 educational institutions in 49 states. Clients include school systems, libraries, nonprofits, and after-school educational programs.

 

Academic Partners

USD Logo
UCSD Logo
Pitt State Logo

 

 

Board of Directors

Jena Olson

Jena Olson

Executive Director & Trustee

jenao@kidsparkeducation.org

Paul Eichen

Paul Eichen

Founder & Chair

paule@kidsparkeducation.org

Travis Good

Travis Good

Vice Chair

Jason Alexander

John Alexander

Secretary & Trustee

Jim Stone

Jim Stone

Treasurer & Trustee 

Anne Worrall

Anne Worrall

Trustee

Michael W. Hager

Michael W. Hager, Ph.D.

Trustee

Headshot Placeholder

Dennis Whittler

Trustee 

 

 

Staff

Jena Olson

Jena Olson

Executive Director

jenao@kidsparkeducation.org

John Kiester

John Kiester

Chief Operating Officer

johnk@kidsparkeducation.org

Christine Norris

Christine Norris

Senior VP of Client Services

christinen@kidsparkeducation.org

Ryan Neden

Ryan Neden

Vice President of Education

ryann@kidsparkeducation.org

David Emery

David Emery

Director of Client Services & Professional Learning

davide@kidsparkeducation.org

Stanislav Semukhin

Stanislav Semukhin

Graphic Designer

stanislavs@kidsparkeducation.org

Chelsey Kiester

Chelsey Kiester

Senior Client Services Representative

chelseyk@kidsparkeducation.org

Clarissa Dieck

Clarissa Dieck

Education Client Services Specialist

clarissad@kidsparkeducation.org